“I’m not into fashion!”

Anonymous  Male

Said the young man,13, who wished to be anonymous. Yes, it is his point of view and he owns it. However, when I pressed him with a few directed questions, his answers were interesting. For instance, when asked, “Do you care about what you put on everyday?” his answer: “Well, I don’t want to wear the same thing that I wore yesterday.” And then more: I want to wear something new every day until the week is over.” Finally, I asked him if there was anything he noticed about his clothing choices since becoming a teenager. His answer: “No, not really.”

… Really? Maybe he’s into fashion just a little.

What do you think?

4 thoughts on ““I’m not into fashion!”

  1. i will tell you when he will START caring about fashion: WHEN there is a girls he wants to impress! Hey, he might not call it the “f” word but fashion consciousness is indeed what it will be. His hair will be washed and groomed…his clothes will be up to date with some thought of color coordination. I saw it bloom in my brother (about 30 years ago)…and some (sad) day it will happen to my son (he is 9 years old)…who is currently wearing whatever he happens to lay his hands on first, whether it was worn the day before or not! Cherish the “I don’t care about fashion” day, Mel…cause that means he is still YOUR guy! 🙂

    • Thank you, Kylie, for your comments! You made me laugh out loud! Many of us out there feel that we are NOT fashion conscious but when pushed we realize that we care more than we think. And yes, I am happy this Mr. Anonymous is not rushing the process for now! Mel

  2. Nice example of questioning assumptions. And, good for him to express himself in this conversatioin. In a time of texting and shortened language, giving young people an opportunity to talk is wonderful. Even, if it is a challenge from time to time 🙂

    • Thank you! He was so sure that he had nothing to say and when directed a bit, it turned out that he had strong opinions and was able to share them. Yes, it was a challenge but so worth it. Thank you for your comments and support!

Leave a comment